What I want to say for this post I have already written so here is the introduction to my A Level art essay.

When we chose our focus for our ‘Personal Investigation’ I found myself steering towards portraiture. I’ve always found facial features and the structure of the human profile fascinating. One thing I always love to draw is portraits, whether it’s of a family member or a famous person. I could happily sit studying the complex construction of the human eye or likewise figuring out how to perfect a person’s lips when they all change dramatically from person to person. I started looking at artists that have worked on portraiture on Pinterest and from there explored the related posts to find more of the same.

Portraiture can sometimes make the viewer feel confronted. Others will find a common ground with the subject and sympathise with them. Any art can create connections between the different elements of the image, the artist and the viewer, however portraiture is more personal and intimate. There are lot of different factors which determine if this is a warm and comforting emotion or a jarred and unnatural bond. In this essay I will investigate how we, individually, engage with art and what attracts us to something. Do the different compositions and materials have a part to play?

Face Value 2
Final Piece. Self Portrait. Size: A0. Watercolour and pencil/graphite.
Alex D 2
Alex. Pencil. Size: A4.
Ellen 1
Ellen. Pencil. Size: A4
Andrew 2
Andrew. Pencil. Size: A4.
Caitlin
Moi. Pencil. Size: A4.
Hilary 1
Hilary. Watercolour. Size: A4.
Face Value 1
My wall. Pt 1.
Face Value 3
My wall. Pt 2.

I’m currently listening to Fools Rush In by Frank Sinatra

Until next time,
Caitlin x

Leave a comment